Seyfarth Events

Webinar: Annual Employment Law Update for California Employers

2/29/2012

Cost: There is no cost to attend this webinar, registration is required

Webinar

Wednesday, February 29, 2012

  • 1:00 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. Eastern
  • 12:00 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. Central
  • 11:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Mountain
  • 10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. Pacific 

In 2011, the California Legislature passed many new laws that will challenge employers in 2012 and beyond. In our first breakfast briefing of 2012, we will summarize the new legislation that will affect employers doing business in California and provide practical solutions for compliance. We will also highlight key case law and regulatory developments of 2011, as well as significant changes we may expect in 2012.

Specific Briefing Topics Include:

New California employment legislation effective January 1, 2012, including changes to laws regarding wage notices; credit checks; pregnancy protections; mandatory benefits; genetic and gender-based discrimination; independent contractors; commission agreements; and more

New regulations expected in 2012, which will affect areas including leaves and reasonable accommodations

Key 2011 court decisions regarding classification of workers as exempt from overtime; California wage laws applying to non-residents; meal periods and rest breaks; arbitration agreements; plus key decisions on retaliation, harassment, and class actions

To register for this webinar click here

If you have any questions, please contact events@seyfarth.com.