Seyfarth Events

Franchise and Dealer Relations: Protecting Your Trade Secrets and Brand

7/28/2010

Webinar

10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. Pacific
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Mountain
12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. Central
1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Eastern

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

The fourth webinar of the 2010 series will focus on how to protect trade secrets, trade dress/marks, and goodwill while maintaining and enhancing successful franchises and dealerships.  These are often the core assets of a franchise or dealership, and this webinar will present an overview of what assets are protectable, how those assets can be protected, what state and federal laws can be used to protect these assets, and what can be done if these assets are threatened. 

Our team will discuss:

  • Common protectable interests such as trade secrets, trade marks, trade dress, and goodwill
  • Best practices for the protection of these assets during the franchise, dealership, or distributor relationship, including the use of confidentiality and/or non-competition agreements at the beginning of a business relationship and registering trade dress/marks
  • State and federal law that can be used to protect trade secrets and brands such as the Uniform Trade Secret Act, the Lanham Act, unfair competition statutes, and common law
  • What a company must show to prevail in litigation and what the company may recover if successful

Our panel consists of attorneys with significant experience advising franchise, dealer, and distributor clients on protecting their brands, trade secrets, and other intellectual property, including litigating trade secret cases, drafting protection agreements and conducting trade secret audits. CLE credit will be available for participants.*

For questions, please contact events@seyfarth.com and reference this event.


 

*CLE: Seyfarth has applied for CLE credit in IL, NY, and CA.  If you would like us to pursue CLE credit in any additional states, please contact events@seyfarth.com. Please note that in order to receive full credit for attending this webinar, the registrant must be present for the entire session. This program is appropriate for both newly admitted and experienced attorneys.