Seyfarth Events

Trade Secrets 2011 Webinar Series - The Anatomy of a Trade Secret Audit: Is the Data That Drives Your Company Adequately Protected?

5/25/2011

Webinar

Webinar Times:

10:00 am - 11:00 am Pacific
11:00 am - 12:00 pm Mountain 
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm Central
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm Eastern

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

With the economy recovering in some sectors, the risk of trade secret theft to businesses has increased with greater employee mobility and the incumbent pressures on production and sales, together with the alarming frequency of targeted data theft attacks and the explosion of social media and cloud computing. Companies cannot simply react to these real business risks to their data once the data is compromised but should employ a thoughtful and comprehensive approach to the protection of their trade secrets and confidential information.
 
It is not uncommon for companies to find themselves in situations where important assets are overlooked or taken for granted. Yet, those same assets can be lost or compromised in a moment through what is often benign neglect. Authoritative sources estimate that companies lose hundreds of billions of dollars as a result of trade secret theft. At the same time, companies sometimes find themselves, through poor controls, exposed when they inadvertently obtain others’ trade secrets. Recent jury verdicts across the nation demonstrate the risk is real. Moreover, once the trade secret is lost, it is lost forever along with the value the company derives from the information.
 
To address these recurrent issues, Seyfarth Shaw helps clients protect their important assets and effectively manage risk by conducting Trade Secret Audits. Our experience has shown that companies gain tremendous value by taking a proactive, systematic approach to assessing and protecting their trade secret portfolios through a Trade Secret Audit. Please join us for the second webinar of the 2011 series which focuses on Trade Secret Audits.

Topics will include:

  • Identifying trade secrets and secrecy protections
  • Effective secrecy protections, including employment and non-compete agreements.
  • Effective hiring and termination protocols, including effective exit interviews and termination protocols.
  • Employing a comprehensive approach and trade secret protection plan
  • Managing and working to protect computer-stored data,including responding to emergency issues related to computer fraud and security breaches
  • This informative presentation will include a question and answer portion and checklists.

Our panel consists of attorneys with experience advising clients on issues related to trade secret audits. CLE credit will be available for participants.*

For questions, please contact events@seyfarth.com and reference this event.