Seyfarth Events

California's New Fair Pay Act: Prepare to Defend Your Employee Compensation

10/22/2015

Cost: There is no cost to attend this program, however, registration is required.

Webinar

4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Eastern
3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Central
2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. Mountain
1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. Pacific

The nation’s most aggressive equal pay law, the California Fair Pay Act, was signed into law last week.  Effective January 1, 2016 for employers with California-based employees, this Act dramatically lowers the bar for an equal pay suit.  It will:

  • Permits plaintiffs to compare themselves with persons of the opposite sex working at any location for the same employer, and in any “substantially similar”—not the necessarily the same—job.
  • Not require a showing of discriminatory intent or a specific practice or policy with a discriminatory impact.
  • Require employers to justify all pay differentials and limits the reasons that employers can use to explain any differences.

Attend this webinar to learn about how this law will apply to your workplace and what to do now to prepare to defend your employee compensation. We will discuss the law, how it differs from existing law, and provide you with our observations on conducting pay analysis to assess and mitigate legal risk.

If you have any questions, please contact events@seyfarth.com.
 
*CLE Credit for this webinar has been awarded in the following states: CA, IL, NJ and NY. CLE Credit is pending for GA, TX and VA. Please note that in order to receive full credit for attending this webinar, the registrant must be present for the entire session