Seyfarth Events

Obama's Wage & Hour Proposal: What You Need To Know

3/18/2014

Webinar

 

Tuesday
March 18, 2014


1:00 p.m. to 1:45 p.m. Eastern
12:00 p.m. to 12:45 p.m. Central
11:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m. Mountain
10:00 a.m. to 10:45 a.m. Pacific

 

Today, President Obama is expected to direct the Department of Labor to revise the regulations governing the executive, administrative, and professional ("white collar") exemptions from the minimum wage and overtime requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act.  Initial reports indicate that the proposal will make it more difficult for employers to claim a white-collar exemption, raising the required salary level and creating more stringent standards related to the job duties performed by an exempt employee.  Revisions of this kind to these regulations would, if implemented, dramatically and adversely affect employers throughout the country.

Join us on Tuesday, March 18, 2014 at 1:00 p.m. EDT as two of our senior attorneys, Alex Passantino, former head of the Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Division; and Lawrence Lorber, former Deputy Assistant Secretary of Labor, discuss questions about what the President's directive means for your organization, including:

  • What are the anticipated proposed revisions likely to include?
  • What employers are likely to be most heavily impacted?
  • What are the next steps in the process?
  • When can we expect these new rules to apply?
  • How can employers best and most effectively provide input during the rule-making process?

 

Click here to register.

 

Please contact events@seyfarth.com with any questions.