Seyfarth Events

Obama Administration Executive Actions on Immigration: What Employers Need to Know Now

12/16/2014

Cost: There is no cost to attend this program, however, registration is required.

Webinar


2:00 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. Eastern
1:00 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. Central
12:00 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. Mountain
11:00 a.m. to 12:30 a.m. Pacific



On November 20th, President Obama announced a series of wide-ranging executive actions to address parts of America’s dysfunctional immigration system, while urging Congress to “pass a bill.”  Since then, the primary focus has been on the paths to lawful status for undocumented immigrants.  But many are asking, “what is the impact on employers?”

This webinar will address key elements of the President’s executive actions affecting employers, offering analysis and strategic planning opportunities.

Topics will include:

  • Increased worksite enforcement and employer compliance burdens as newly lawful employees seek recognition and demand benefits while a new interagency working group comprised of the DOL, DHS and DOJ collaborate on worker-protection and enforcement strategies.
     
  • Accelerated filing of employment-based green card applications to allow greater job and career mobility, as well as benefits for dependents.
     
  • Actions to support entrepreneurs, researchers, inventors and STEM graduates.
     
  • Modernization and streamlining of consular visa practices and labor certification procedures.
     
  • Nonimmigrant Reforms:  H-4 spousal employment authorization and new L-1B ”specialized knowledge” guidance.
     
  • Timing issues and planning opportunities:  which changes are effective immediately, which require policy guidance memoranda, and which require new regulations?
     

Register Here